Live Participation allows teachers to control the pace of the lesson or video while students participate on their devices, in-class, or through video conferencing. Teachers can view real-time progress as you teach to drive your instruction for better learning outcomes.
Learn more about all three lesson modes, and how to launch, in this article.
In this article, you will learn:
- How to launch
- Sharing with your students
- Facilitating your lesson
- Viewing responses in real-time
- Reviewing responses after the lesson
How to launch
To launch a lesson or video, first hover over (with your mouse or trackpad) the lesson or video in your library. The three lesson modes will appear. Select Live Participation to generate a link or code to share with your students.
You can launch each lesson multiple times if you teach more than one section. Sessions last 14 days and students will pick up where they left off in the learning. Each code will be its own folder in Nearpod Reports.
Sharing with your students
Students can join the live participation lesson by entering the code at nearpod.com/student, or directly by the link, which you can share via email, your learning management system, Google Classroom, Teams, and more. To learn more about how students join a lesson, check out this article.
Facilitating your lesson
Once you have launched the lesson with your students, you can facilitate the lesson by using the blue arrows on the left and right side of the screen. The code will remain in the top left corner in case a student needs to join at a later time.
Click on the people icon in the bottom right corner to pull up a roster of the students who have joined your lesson. A red dot will appear next to a student's name if they are not active in the lesson.
Viewing responses in real-time
During a Live Participation lesson or video, you'll see student answers to Nearpod formative assessments in real-time with the Teacher View. You can click on responses to enlarge them, and share out individual student responses anonymously to the whole class. Click on "Hide student names" in the bottom right corner to keep student names anonymous in the Teacher View.
Reviewing responses after the lesson
After the lesson, you can view student responses in the post-session Reports. Learn more about Reports in this article.